Quirindi Arts & Craft Shop
Address : Railway Square, QuirindiPhone : 02 6746 1096
Doubling up as an Information Centre, the Arts & Craft Shop is located in the historic National Trust Railway Station building. An army of dedicated volunteers sell a wide range of locally hand-crafted items including needlework, art, woodwork, lead lighting, pottery, jewellery, knitting, card-making as well as jams, pickles, local honey and biscuits. There is a cake stall on days announced on facebook https://www.facebook.com/QuirindiArtsandCraftshop?fref=ts.
Opening Hours: Monday to Friday 9.00am to 4.00pm; Saturday: 9.00am to 11.45am
Quirindi Cycle path and Skate Park
The Quirindi Cycle path starts at the R.S.L Park near Henry Street and winds along Quirindi Creek to the skate park at Rose Lee Park. There is outdoor exercise equipment along the way. Walk, run or cycle along the path, have a go at the equipment and enjoy the fresh air.
Rose Lee Park
Rose Lee Park was named after Mrs Rose Lee, who was born in 1830 and gave many years of hard work to the efforts of the Women’s Radio Club and other Charities raising funds for local community needs. Mrs Lee was affectionately known as “Mrs Rubber Boots” for her constant working attire, a pair of galoshes.
Stock Brands of the Liverpool Plains
Address : Station & George Streets, Quirindi
Evidence suggests that sheep and cattle were moving through the Liverpool Plains in the early 1820′s making it difficult to pinpoint when pastoralism really began in this area.
Most of the Brands are those not originally associated with the properties but belong to known owners. Brands were required by law after 1866 and there are a number of stories relating to getting cattle inspectors drunk or driving off their horses so that property owners did not have their stock confiscated.
On a more practical note before the days of fencing an when cattle where driven to market, brands were the only way to separate mobs that may have accidentally been drawn together.
Brands or ear tags are mandatory to this day and are becoming more and more digitized and sophisticated. In some instances the classic branding iron has been replaced by a freeze dried brand which removes pigment from the hair follicles of the beast.
Quipolly Dam Recreation Area & Bird Hide
Phone : (02) 6747 1226 (Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre)The Quipolli Recreation Area is the perfect spot for a picnic, a spot of fishing or simply to chill out. There are picnic tables, a toilet with disabled access and walking paths. Bring your own BBQ.
Follow the road past the recreation area to the old quipolli dam, where you find the bird hide. A flora and fauna sanctuary, a “must” for the bird lover! The Liverpool Plains is known for its many and varied bird species such as the Diamond Firetail and Black-chinned Honeyeater. This dam is known worldwide and has a newly constructed Bird Hide on the edge of the dam. The Bird Hide overlooks this pristine flora and fauna sanctuary. According to some sources the dam filled with silt during the 1940′s, attributed to the rabbit plagues and developed a habitat which attracts both water and woodland birds. The sanctuary continues upstream along the creek for about 1km.
Quirindi Rural Heritage Village & Museum
Address : Kamilaroi Highway, Quirindi 2343Phone : (02) 6746 2992 or (02) 6746 1479
Be inspired by the development of rural Australia. The Quirindi Rural Heritage Village is set on 13 acres, just 3kms from Quirindi on the Gunnedah Road, in the heart of the rich farming area – the Liverpool Plains. The village has been designed to collect, preserve, restore, interpret and exhibit artefacts that relate to the history, heritage and culture of the regional area.
Open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, 10.00 am to 3.00 pm
Miniature Railway runs every 4th Sunday, 10.00 am to 3.00 pm. Please wear closed shoes!
Cost : Adults $5, Under 16 $1, under school age Free
Contact : Bob and Maralyn Kolln Address : 35 Ray Carter Drive, Quirindi NSW 2343
Phone : 02 6746 2009
Email : email@example.com
You will find Bob’s Shed on Ray Carter Drive, half way up the Who’d A Thought It Lookout. Be amazed. Bob’s shed is the envy of any collector: at the general store you will find boxes and tins from the fabulous 40s and 50s., the Pub is full of beer cans, bottles, coasters and Pub kitsch. Two entire rooms are dedicated to Peter Brock, and there are cars, motorbikes and model cars galore. You need to go more than once to see it all!
Bob and Maralyn cater for groups. For bookings call 02 6746 2009
First and Second Fleet Memorial Gardens
Address : New England Highway, Wallabadah 2343 Phone : (02) 6747 1226 (Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre)
Hand carved tablets, by master stonemason Ray Collins, list the names of passengers, the crew, convicts, and civilians who travelled on the ships of the First and Second Fleet. Read of the tales from those who were on the voyages and explore the list of livestock and provisions that were brought.
After walking around The Gardens, why not picnic under the graceful stand of Australian native Shea Oaks adorning the banks of the Quirindi Creek. Picnic facilities including barbeques, children’s play area and amenities are all easily accessible. The Gardens are open Monday to Sunday from sunrise to sunset.
Guided Tours for Groups
Guided Tours for School Groups will take c.a. 2 hours and include an informative walk around the gardens, a quizz, booklet, 2 teacher’s booklets and a treasure hunt. Cost: $5.00 per child. Bring a hat and water. Toilets available.
Guided Tours for other Groups will take c.a. 30 – 40 minutes. Please book at the Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre on 02 6747 1226 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Trains of the Northern Line
Address : Single Street, Werris Creek NSW 2341Werris Creek remembers its great railway past by paying tribute to the trains of the Northern Line. Pavers of all the trains that played a part can be found on the pavement along the main street.
Australian Railway Monument & Rail Journeys Museum
Address : Railway Avenue, Werris Creek 2343 Phone : (02) 6768 7929
A celebration of Australian history in the first and last railway town in New South Wales, the Australian Railway Monument & Rail Journeys Museum capture the essence of railway life in Australia. Built as a memorial to those who died whilst working to develop our nation’s infrastructure, the Australian Railway Monument is a sight to behold. Opened in October 2005, the six evocative structures of the monument are set on the backdrop of the impressive historical Werris Creek Railway Station. Search the name walls of this sobering commemoration and acknowledge those who died on duty.
Cost : Donation
Willow Tree Inn
The Willow Tree Inn, built in 1913, was bought by the Hanna Pastoral Group Pty who redeveloped the Inn using the services of avid historian and architect Darryl Lock and local trades people. Reproducing traditional designs of the original Inn and using recycled timbers resulted in a fascinating mixture of young and old.Today the Inn offers a sophisticated dining experience in a rural setting, prize-winning steaks and fine wines.
Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre
Address : King George V Park, New England Highway, Willow Tree Phone : 02 6747 1226
The Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre, on the New England Highway in Willow Tree is the perfect stop for weary travellers. It boasts clean toilets, comfy chairs to have a sit and relax, a vast range of free maps and brochures well beyond the local area, souvenirs and gifts to buy and friendly staff who can tell you all there is to know about the Liverpool Plains and its attractions. There is a coffee shop next door, alfresco dining with view to the play equipment, there are pic nic tables and a lovely park for a rest.
The Foyer of the Visitor Information Centre displays the original Warrah Desk, which the AA company took to Warrah Station in the early 1830ies. The AA company donated the desk to the Warrah people in 2013 to mark the centenary of the Warrah subdivision and the Warrah people in turn gave it on permanent loan to the Visitor Information Centre, where it is for all to see. Old photos and information boards take you right back to Willow Tree’s history. The Centre also boasts a fantastic agricultural display outlining farming practices in the Liverpool Plains.
Open Mo – Sun 9.00am to 5.00pm, closed 25. and 26. December and Good Friday.
The Kamilaroi – a Highway, a People
Contact : Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre Address : King George V Park, New England Highway, Willow Tree NSW 2339
Phone : 02 6747 1226
The Kamilaroi Highway, the only Highway with an Aboriginal name in Australia, starts just north of Willow Tree and takes you for 600 km from the Great Divide to the Great Outback, from Willow Tree to Bourke. The Kamilaroi People are the traditional owners of this land that goes through the Liverpool Plains, Gunnedah, Narrabri, Walgett, Brewarrina to Bourke. Willow Tree is the beginning of the journey of the Kamilaroi. Their story is written on beautifully framed story board lining a path in front of the Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre.